The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is the most distinguished and attractive among professional players worldwide tournament.

The main event is a No-Limit Texas Hold’em tournament with a $10,000 buy-in. The final table is held every year at Rio Casino (formerly Binion’s Horseshoe Casino) in Las Vegas.

The first official tournament was held in the year 1970, and it was attended by only 7 players. The winner was Johnny Moss. The number of participants has been increasing at a steady rate. In 1971, the winner won $30,000, the 2006 winner won $12 million.

The World Series of Poker has expanded to Las Vegas and the United States and the end of 2007, the first World Series of Poker Europe (WSOPE) event was organized. The World Series of Poker Asia Pacific (WSOP APAC) is the third expansion of the WSOP brand. The first WSOP APAC event took place at Crown Melbourne in 2013.

It is now a truly global event with players from around the world competing for prize pools in the millions. WSOP online satellite tournaments which are always running prior to the commencement of WSOP events have enabled online players to gain entry into higher buy-in live tourneys for much cheaper, hence the explosion in attendance numbers.

Related terms on

  1. EPT
  2. WPT
  3. Super Satellite
  4. Final Table
  5. Steps Tournaments
Bookmark the permalink.